A Writing Assignment

A Matter of Semantics

 

The assignment was, is: Do a short piece of  Erotica  from the point of view of the opposite sex … in the first person. ( Opposite of yours, the writer’s. )  A simple enough exercise … one would think.  

 erot·ic (ē rätik, i-)

adjective

  1. of or arousing sexual feelings or desires; having to do with sexual love; amatory
  2. highly susceptible to sexual stimulation

Origin: Gr erōtikos < erōs (gen. erōtos), love

noun

an erotic person

Can we, as writers, do it? Do women write better doing males in the first person, or do men do it better? Even just a couple of paragraphs.

 

He seduced me on a late fall Saturday night. I have to admit to being a willing participant.

I had been prepared to wait.  Good girls don’t do it  we had always been told back home … until they are married.  Or at least engaged.  And, it wasn’t our mamas who told us that last part.

Music played on the radio, and the intermittent voice of the announcer.

“Dance with me,” he pulled me up from the cushioned sofa.

I kicked off my shoes, the crown of my head fit perfectly just underneath his chin. He was warm against my chest

 We didn’t dance much. Mostly he just kissed me, me on tip toes.

 “Did I tell you you kiss good?” I asked.

 “You did. Do it again.”

 “Tell you you kiss good?”

“No. … Kiss me again.”

I did. He held a handful of the back of my skirt in one hand.

The pronouns are easy. However, do the above paragraphs flow? If you stop and think about it, is that the voice of a female?

The results were, in my opinion, mixed.  There are eight writers in this particular group, five women and three guys. I thought three of the five ladies pulled it off. If I had been doing a ‘blind’ reading it would never have crossed my mind a man didn’t write this … it doesn’t sound right.  Of the other two men in the group, I thought it was one and one as far as being convincing is concerned.

Give it a try! … Maybe we’ll have a contest.     

About Tom Honea

the south mississippi i grew up in did not yet have paved roads or telephones or televisions. it did have great story tellers, on front porches in the summer or around the fire place in the winter. we were poverty stricken, financially but not culturally. we didn't know it. everybody up and down the road was in the same boat. . after forty years of day jobs i am approaching my "fishing years." i plan to spend them writing. i have a finished and edited deep south novel in the "marketing" stages. currently i'm deep into a WW II home front piece set in the Hampton Roads, VA area. notes and character sketches are already underway for "From Hiroshima to Elvis" ( the ten years after the war ) on the coastal areas of South Carolina. . visit asheville ... come and see me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

