Reading … good Writing

As a follow up to the post on Annie Proulx and good writing.

We have already gotten some suggestions from our readers re: good writing. … Let me know whom you think is really good at the WRITING part of it. We’ll post the result next Monday.  ( 13 June )

                thanks              tom honea

About Tom Honea

the south mississippi i grew up in did not yet have paved roads or telephones or televisions. it did have great story tellers, on front porches in the summer or around the fire place in the winter. we were poverty stricken, financially but not culturally. we didn't know it. everybody up and down the road was in the same boat. . after forty years of day jobs i am approaching my "fishing years." i plan to spend them writing. i have a finished and edited deep south novel in the "marketing" stages. currently i'm deep into a WW II home front piece set in the Hampton Roads, VA area. notes and character sketches are already underway for "From Hiroshima to Elvis" ( the ten years after the war ) on the coastal areas of South Carolina. . visit asheville ... come and see me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading … good Writing

  1. amarkonmywall says:

    Reynolds Price. It’s been quite a while since I’ve read his work but always he comes to mind as one of the greatest writers of our country, our time and specifically, the South. When I first read Kate Vaiden in 1986 I was blown away by the quality of his writing and it only got better as I read through his entire body of work. His use of language, dialogue and dialect is unsurpassed, in my humble opinion. So that’s one.

    Chapters 6,7,8 (?) I think (can’t find my copy) of Cannery Row and the description of Doc collecting specimens in the tide pool is, for me, one of the finest segments of writing of all time, ever. Doc, as a fictional character, is so contradictory that although he is described as a simple man, he embodies the entire complex array of the things that make us human. Steinbeck’s description of life in the tide pool itself is phenomenal- I think that is the opening for chapter six. Now I’m going hunting for that to re-read.

    Hope I’m not too late to weigh in!

Leave a Reply

