A Conversation with Bob: Mormons

This is a bit different from my normal post. .. an exchange of emails with my friend \Bob Tuttle.   http://foundationforevangelism.org/2010/07/dr-robert-tuttle-jr-retires-after-25-years-as-professor/

    bob is my friend, my neighbor, my running buddy. he has spent the past couple of decades teaching world evangalical religions and world comparative religions.  he is professor emeritus at Asbury Methodist Semenary, Louisville, KY and Orlando, FL.

tuttle …                   ( 1:25 PM monday … 10 october ) 

                what is your take on the debate re: is mormonism christanity or a cult ? … my phone is not working … you can call me, but i can’t call you.  they are sending me a new one, but it may be next monday before it gets here.           TEH

2:54 PM  Monday   10 october …                          I’m just off another airplane.  Delta (probably stands for: Doesn’t Ever Leave The Airport).   My flight was late going to Pittsburgh and arriving from Pittsburgh so I missed my connection last night and had to spend another night in Atlanta.  I’m tired. … …  As for your Mormon question, if I am correct (and I believe I am with all my heart but there is still no guarantee.  Ultimately we will let God be the Judge) Mormonism is a cult as they deny that which I consider most critical to my understanding of the Christian faith.  Our Mormon friends have Jesus Christ as the brother of Adam and not the incarnate Son of God (which, of course, he claims to be and all those who knew him best claimed him to be).  The Book of Mormon is an interpretation of the Old Testament as our New Testament is an interpretation of the Old Testament (as is the Qur’an for that matter).  They simply disagree as to the person of Jesus.  By the way, Mormonism is closer to Islam than Christianity or Judaism (I gave you that for nothing because it is probably worth nothing). 
Dianne’s mom is now on hospice as she has a new case of pneumonia.  We will be driving down in the next day or two so I may not be there on Thursday.  Run on pal.  You are looking great.  I wish I could get back at it now that my gardens have been put to bed.    Bob

3:08 PM     Monday    10 october           thanks …   try to get a day’s rest before you head   off-down-east. … i wanted to be able to tell an online “friend”  ( christian conservative …  pro-life, young earth creationist, presbyterian ) that Jon Huntsman and Mitt Romney are as “christian” as is she. … that Robert Jeffries, Dallas, is way out of bounds. .. but maybe not. )                                TEH

3:22 PM … Monday … 10 October        Christian is not simply what we believe.  It is who we are.  If you have accessed the power of the Holy Spirit by virtue of your faith in Jesus Christ as the Son of the living God then that should manifest itself in love and forgiveness.  Romney may be more Christian in his actions than your on line friend.  In my opinion Jesus would be heart broken by what the right wing is doing.  They do NOT manifest the mind nor character nor spirit of Christ.  God help us all.                    BT

This post is in no way intended to offend or to force my point of view on anyone. It does, I think, point out the need for all of us to take an honest look at and to respect the beliefs of other honest and honorable Americans.

The Mormons that I know are good and honest and honorable people. … Who am I, for that matter, who is Dr. Robert Jeffries, First Baptist Church, Dallas to say that Mormons are not Christians, that their religion is a cult.  I offer to you that he, Dr. Jeffries, is far move devisive and inflamatory than either Jon Huntsman or Mitt Romney.

 

Tom Honea

About Tom Honea

the south mississippi i grew up in did not yet have paved roads or telephones or televisions. it did have great story tellers, on front porches in the summer or around the fire place in the winter. we were poverty stricken, financially but not culturally. we didn't know it. everybody up and down the road was in the same boat. . after forty years of day jobs i am approaching my "fishing years." i plan to spend them writing. i have a finished and edited deep south novel in the "marketing" stages. currently i'm deep into a WW II home front piece set in the Hampton Roads, VA area. notes and character sketches are already underway for "From Hiroshima to Elvis" ( the ten years after the war ) on the coastal areas of South Carolina. . visit asheville ... come and see me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

